PCSSD's Board Policy 5.29: Wellness Policy calls for the creation of a School Nutrition and Physical Activity Advisory Committee (SNPAAC) or Wellness Committee.

DISTRICT WELLNESS COMMITTEE

To enhance the district’s efforts to improve the health of our students, the SNPAAC shall be formed. It shall be structured in a way to ensure age-appropriate recommendations are made that correlate to the District’s grade configurations. The SNPAAC shall have the powers and responsibilities delegated to it by statute and Rule and are incorporated into this policy by reference. The overarching goal of the committee shall be to promote student wellness by monitoring how well the District is doing at implementing this policy. The SNPAAC shall use modules 1, 2, 3, 4, 10, and 11 of the Centers for Disease Control’ (CDC) School Health Index as a basis for annually assessing each school’s progress toward meeting the requirements of this policy. The results of the annual assessment shall be included in the school district’s support plan (SDSP), provided to each school’s principal, and reported to the board. Goals and objectives for nutrition and physical activity shall also be included in the SDSP.

The SNPAAC shall be made up of Individuals from the following groups to the extent interested persons from each group desire to be included in the development, implementation, and periodic review of the District's wellness policy:

  • Members of the District’s Board of Directors;

  • School administrators;

  • School nutrition personnel;

  • Teacher organizations;

  • Teachers of physical education;

  • Parents;

  • Students;

  • Professional groups (such as nurses);

  • School health professionals (such as school nurses, school counselors, and social workers); and

  • Community members.

The SNPAAC shall provide written recommendations to the District’s Child Nutrition Director concerning menus and other foods sold in the school cafeteria. Such recommendations shall be based, at least in part, on the information the Committee receives from the District on the requirements and standards of the National School Lunch Program and from menus for the National School Lunch Program and other food sold in the school cafeteria on a quarterly basis.

The SNPAAC will meet at least quarterly. Meeting dates for the SNPAAC will be placed on the District’s calendar.

To learn more about the committee or how you can become involved, please contact Tonya Raborn at traborn0500@pcssd.org.

Wellness Committee Meeting Minutes

WELLNESS COMMITTEE MEMBERS:

  • Tonya Raborn

  • Regena English

  • Cynthia Hines

  • Jessica Duff

  • Dr. Alesia Smith

  • Dr. Janice Warren

  • Laura Sergeant

  • Detrich Smith

  • Michelle Muhammad

  • Lynette Slaughter

  • Tina Ward

  • Brittany McDonald

  • Anna Haver

  • Paulette Bell

  • Lauren Beene (Maumelle High School)

  • Brooke Oaks (Sylvan Hill High School)

PAST MEETING DATES:

  • September 14, 2022

  • May 2, 2022

  • February 7, 2022

  • December 6, 2021

  • October 4, 2021

  • April 22, 2021

  • February 18, 2021

  • December 2, 2020

  • September 17, 2020

NONDISCRIMINATION STATEMENT FOR ARKANSAS CHILD NUTRITION PROGRAMS

In accordance with federal civil rights law and U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) civil rights regulations and policies, the USDA, its agencies, offices, and employees, and institutions participating in or administering USDA programs are prohibited from discriminating based on race, color, national origin, sex, disability, age, or reprisal or retaliation for prior civil rights activity in any program or activity conducted or funded by USDA.

Persons with disabilities who require alternative means of communication for program information (e.g. Braille, large print, audiotape, American Sign Language, etc.), should contact the agency (state or local) where they applied for benefits. Individuals who are deaf, hard of hearing or have speech disabilities may contact USDA through the Federal Relay Service at (800) 877-8339. Additionally, program information may be made available in languages other than English.

To file a program complaint of discrimination, complete the USDA Program Discrimination Complaint Form, (AD-3027) found online at: http://www.ascr.usda.gov/complaint_filing_cust.html, and at any USDA office, or write a letter addressed to USDA and provide in the letter all of the information requested in the form. To request a copy of the complaint form, call (866) 632-9992. Submit your completed form or letter to USDA by:

  1. Mail: U.S. Department of Agriculture, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights, 1400 Independence Avenue, SW, Washington, D.C. 20250-9410;

  2. Fax: (202) 690-7442; or

  3. Email: program.intake@usda.govprogram.intake@usda.gov

This institution is an equal opportunity provider.

DISTRICT WELLNESS COMMITTEE CHAIRPERSON:

Tonya Raborn, 501-234-4416  |  traborn0500@pcssd.org

SCHOOL LEVEL SCHOOL HEALTH COORDINATORS:

SCHOOL

NAME

PHONE

EMAIL

Baker

Shena Folz

501-234-3142

sfoltz@pcssd.org

Cato

Sherri Waggoner

501-234-5908

swaggoner@pcssd.org

Chenal

Yolanda Harris

501.821.7450

yharris@pcssd.org

Center of Innovation

Tammy Bray

501.234.3703

tbray3802@pcssd.org

Clinton

Mark Anderson

501.833.1200

manderson6448@pcssd.org

College Station

Christy Gray

501.234.5061

cgray@pcssd.org

Crystal Hill

Jared White

501.791.8008

jwhite3335@pcssd.org

Daisy Bates

Rowena Lowe

501-234-4754

rlowe7683@pcssd.org

Harris

Calvin Drinnen

501.955.3550

CDrinnen8131@pcssd.org

Landmark

Rachel Stevens

501.888.8790

RStevens5843@pcssd.org

Landmark

Melody King

501.888.8790

mking3246@pcssd.org

Lawson

Julie Coker

501.821.7000

jcoker8141@pcssd.org

Oak Grove

Holley Townsend

501-234-4255

htownsend8555@pcssd.org

Oakbrooke

Angela Watson

501-833-1190

awatson9280@pcssd.org

Pine Forest

Tonya Raborn

501-851-5380

traborn0500@pcssd.org

Robinson Elementary

Deborah Leach

501.234.3558

dleach8701@pcssd.org

Sherwood

Amy Shirley

501.234.5755

ashirley@pcssd.org

Sylvan Hills Elementary

Jason Young

501.833.1140

JYOUNG@pcssd.org

Maumelle Middle

Jack Casey

501.851.8990

jcasey2347@pcssd.org

Mills Middle

Samantha Hulburt

501.490.5730

shurlburt8486@pcssd.org

Robinson Middle

Angela Jones

501-868-2410

ajones5368@pcssd.org

Sylvan Hills Middle

Valery Abernathy

501.833.1120

vabernathy1099@pcssd.org

Maumelle High

Teodis Ingram

501.851.5350

tingram4998@pcssd.org

Mills High

Malinda Berthia

501.234.5457

mberthia@pcssd.org

Robinson High

Mike Morrison

501.868.2400

gmorrison1000@pcssd.org

Sylvan Hills High- Main

Angela Hughes

501.234.6569

ahughes@pcssd.org

Sylvan Hills High- North

Leslie Ireland

501-833-1170

lireland@pcssd.org